MINUTES ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING CITY OF JEFFERSON COMMON COUNCIL APRIL 17, 2018

OATH OF OFFICE TO NEWLY ELECTED OFFICIALS

City Clerk/Deputy Treasurer Kuehl swore in the newly elected city officials: Mayor Oppermann, Ald. Lares, Ald. Horn, Ald. Peachey and Ald. Miller.

The Tuesday, April 17, 2018, organizational meeting of the City of Jefferson Common Council was called to order at 7:21 p.m. by Mayor Oppermann. Members present were: Ald. Peachey, Ald. Horn, Ald. Miller, Ald. Beyer, Ald. Krause, Ald. Lares and Ald. Tully. Absent: Ald. Brandel. Also present were: City Administrator Freitag, City Attorney Rogers, City Engineer Pinnow and City Clerk/Deputy Treasurer Kuehl.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

None.

ELECTION OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Ald. Krause, nominated Ald. Brandel for Council President. Ald. Miller seconded the nomination. Mayor Oppermann then moved to close the nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Ald. Brandel. On call of the roll, the motion carried unanimously. Ald. Brandel was unanimously elected Council President.

MAYORAL PROCLAMATION

The Mayor read a proclamation naming April 27, 2018 as Arbor Day.

RULES OF ORDER OF BUSINESS

Ald. Peachey introduced Resolution No. 1.

CITY OF JEFFERSON RESOLUTION NO. 1

BE IT RESOLVED that the Rules and Order of Business adopted April 18, 2017, by the preceding Common Council, be and hereby are adopted for the government of the Common Council.

Ald. Peachey, seconded by Ald. Beyer moved to recommend Resolution No. 1. Motion carried unanimously on call of the roll.

DESIGNATING AN OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER

Ald. Beyer introduced Resolution No. 2.

CITY OF JEFFERSON RESOLUTION NO. 2 **BE IT RESOLVED** that the Daily Jefferson County Union is hereby designated the official newspaper of the City of Jefferson for publication of Common Council proceedings and legal notices for the ensuing year.

Ald. Beyer, seconded by Ald. Tully moved to recommend Resolution No. 2. Motion carried unanimously on call of the roll.

DESIGNATING THE PUBLIC DEPOSITORIES WHICH MAY BE UTILIZED FOR THE INVESTMENT OF PUBLIC FUNDS

Ald. Krause introduced Resolution No. 3.

CITY OF JEFFERSON RESOLUTION NO. 3

BE IT RESOLVED that the Premier Bank and the Huntington Bank, Badger Bank, Fort Community Credit Union, County City Credit Union, Chase Manhattan Bank, State Investment Pool Fund of Madison and Hometown Bank (Wautoma, WI) duly organized under the laws of the State of Wisconsin and approved by the Wisconsin Commissioner of Banking as qualified public depositories, be and hereby are designated for public depositories pursuant to Section 34.05, of the Wisconsin State Statutes, for all public moneys coming into the City of Jefferson.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Section 7.0 of the City's Investment Policy reads as follows:

In accordance with Wisconsin statues 34.01 (5) and 34.09 all Wisconsin banks, state or federal chartered, as well as the Wisconsin local government pooled-investment fund, are authorized depositories. Any financial institution that is a member of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) and defined as "well capitalized" by the FDIC can be designated as an authorized depository.

Ald. Krause, seconded by Ald. Horn moved to recommend Resolution No. 3. Motion carried unanimously on call of the roll.

APPOINTMENTS BY MAYOR AND CONFIRMED BY COUNCIL

Ald. Horn, seconded by Ald. Lares moved to approve the following mayoral appointments:

Appointments by Mayor and Confirmed by City Council:

A.	Housing Authority (5 yr. term)	Joanne Miller
B.	Library Board (3 yr. term)	Sarah Koch
		Kathy Brown-Kurtz
	A	ld. Peg Beyer, Council Representative
C.	Museum Board – 3 Council Representatives (1 year term)	Ald. Brandel
		Ald. Peachey
		Ald. Lares
D.	Park & Recreation Commission (3 year term)	Steve Adams
		Steve Gee
		Ald. Peachey, Council Representative

E. Plan Commission (3 year term)	Raughn Ferrell
Park & Rec Comm. Representative	Steve Adams
F. Police and Fire Commission (5 year term)	Chris Havill
G. Revolving Loan Fund Committee/LMI	<u>To Be Determined</u>
Ald. 1	Brandel, Council Representative
Ald. Krause, A	
H. Utilities Commission – 2 Council Representatives	
I. Historic Preservation Commission	
J. Cable Commission (1 year term)	•
K. Landscape Committee (3 year term)	
L. Redevelopment Authority (RDA) (5 year term)	
M.E. J.	
M. Energy Independence Initiative Committee	
N. Tarrian Committee	, ,,
N. Tourism Committee	
Ald.	
To Be Determined,	
O. Weed Commissioner	
O. Weed Commissioner	Bill I lilliow
Motion carried unanimously on call of the roll.	
Mayor Oppermann then stated that he would like to appoint Alder Council Representative to the Plan Commission. Ald. Horn, second to approve the mayoral appointment. Motion carried unanimously Miller abstaining.	nded by Ald. Peachey moved
Ald. Tully, seconded by Ald. Lares moved to approve the mayoral of Review. Motion carried unanimously on call of the roll.	appointments to the Board
Board of Review: (1 Year Term)	
	•
Cit	y Clerk/Deputy Treasurer Kuehl

Ald. Miller, seconded by Ald. Tully moved to approve the following appointments to the standing Council Committees. Motion carried unanimously on call of the roll.

Council Committees: (Appointed by the Mayor)

AMBULANCE:	*Miller, Lares, Tully; Alternate: Horn
FINANCE:	*Peachey, Krause, Brandel; Alternate: Horn
REGULATORY:	*Tully, Lares, Beyer; Alternate: Miller
PERSONNEL:	*Miller, Krause, Tully; Alternate: Lares
STREETS:	*Brandel, Tully, Miller; Alternate: Horn
FACILITY:	*Peachey, Beyer, Horn; Alternate: Lares
*D . C : Cl :	

^{*} Denotes Committee Chairperson

Ald. Peachey, seconded by Ald. Lares moved to adjourn the April 17, 2018 organizational meeting of the City of Jefferson Common Council at 7:32 p.m. The motion carried unanimously.

The minutes of the Tuesday, April 17, 2018, organizational meeting of the Common Council are uncorrected. Any corrections made thereto will be noted in the proceedings at which time the minutes are approved.