MINUTES ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING CITY OF JEFFERSON COMMON COUNCIL APRIL 19, 2022

OATH OF OFFICE TO NEWLY ELECTED OFFICIALS

City Clerk/Deputy Treasurer Copsey swore in the newly elected city officials: Ald. Lares, Ald. Neils, Ald. Mattke and Ald. Schroeder.

The Tuesday, April 19, 2022, organizational meeting of the City of Jefferson Common Council was called to order at 7: p.m. by Mayor Oppermann. Member's present were: Ald. Neils, Ald. Schroeder, Ald. Mattke, Ald. Beyer, Ald. Teeter, Ald. Brandel and Ald. Tully. Absent: None. Also present were: City Administrator Freitag, City Attorney Rogers, and City Clerk/Deputy Treasurer Copsey.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

None.

ELECTION OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Ald. Brandel nominated Ald. Tully for Council President. Ald. Lares seconded the nomination. Mayor Oppermann then moved to close the nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Ald. Tully. On call of the roll, the motion carried unanimously. Ald. Tully was unanimously elected Council President.

MAYORAL PROCLAMATION

The Mayor read a proclamation naming April 29, 2022, as Arbor Day.

RULES OF ORDER OF BUSINESS

Ald. Teeter introduced Resolution No. 1.

CITY OF JEFFERSON RESOLUTION NO. 1

BE IT RESOLVED that the Rules and Order of Business adopted April 20, 2021, by the preceding Common Council, be and hereby are adopted for the government of the Common Council.

Ald. Teeter, seconded by Ald. Beyer moved to recommend Resolution No. 1. Motion carried unanimously on voice vote.

DESIGNATING AN OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER

Ald. Lares introduced Resolution No. 2.

CITY OF JEFFERSON RESOLUTION NO. 2 **BE IT RESOLVED** that the Daily Jefferson County Union is hereby designated the official newspaper of the City of Jefferson for publication of Common Council proceedings and legal notices for the ensuing year.

Ald. Lares, seconded by Ald. Brandel moved to recommend Resolution No. 2. Motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

<u>DESIGNATING THE PUBLIC DEPOSITORIES WHICH MAY BE UTILIZED FOR</u> THE INVESTMENT OF PUBLIC FUNDS

Ald. Neils introduced Resolution No. 3.

CITY OF JEFFERSON RESOLUTION NO. 3

BE IT RESOLVED that the Premier Bank and the Associated Bank, Badger Bank, Fort Community Credit Union, County City Credit Union, Chase Manhattan Bank, State Investment Pool Fund of Madison and Hometown Bank (Wautoma, WI) duly organized under the laws of the State of Wisconsin and approved by the Wisconsin Commissioner of Banking as qualified public depositories, be and hereby are designated for public depositories pursuant to Section 34.05, of the Wisconsin State Statutes, for all public moneys coming into the City of Jefferson.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Section 7.0 of the City's Investment Policy reads as follows:

In accordance with Wisconsin statues 34.01 (5) and 34.09 all Wisconsin banks, state or federal chartered, as well as the Wisconsin local government pooled-investment fund, are authorized depositories. Any financial institution that is a member of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) and defined as "well capitalized" by the FDIC can be designated as an authorized depository.

Ald. Neils, seconded by Ald. Lares moved to recommend Resolution No. 3. Motion carried unanimously on voice vote.

APPOINTMENTS BY MAYOR AND CONFIRMED BY COUNCIL

Appointments by Mayor and Confirmed by City Council:

A.	Ho	lousing Authority (5 yr. term)	Bonnie Noonan
	В	Library BoardAld. Laurie Teeter, Counc	il
		Representative	
	C.	. Museum Board – 3 Council Representatives (1 year term)Ald. V	Villiam Brandel
			Ald. Peg Beyer
			Ald. Joe Mattke
	D.	Park & Recreation Commission (3-year term) Ald. Joe Mattke, Council	Representative
	_		•
	E.	Plan Commission (3 year term)Steve Adams, Park & Rec Comm. Re	epresentative
	F. 1	Revolving Loan Fund Committee/LMIRalph Lassa, Financial R	epresentative

		Laurie Teeter, Alternate, Council Representative			
		Frank Bristol			
•		Joe Pieters			
		Ald. William Brandel, Council Representative			
••		Ald. Chick Neils, Council Representative			
		m) Damon Schopen John Foust			
		Ald. Joe Mattke			
		Ald. Laurie Teeter, Alternate			
		,,,,,,,,			
I. Re		Ald. Chick Neils, Chairperson			
		Ald. Jim Schroeder			
	•	Ald. Joe Mattke			
		Ald. Laurie Teeter			
	• 11	Jack Dabareiner			
••		John Luedtke			
M. Tourism Committee					
		Laurie Teeter, Council Representative			
		Jerry Tinberg			
		Boyd Janny			
O. P	olice and Fire Commission	David Knutson			
9. E	Election of Council Representative to the Pla	n Commission.			
		Ald. Jim Schroeder			
10. B	Board of Review: (1 Year Term)				
		Mayor Dale Oppermann			
		Jim Schroeder			
		Peg Beyer			
		Bill Brandel			
		Toby Tully, Jr.			
		City Clerk/Deputy Treasurer Copsey			
11. C	ouncil Committees: (Appointed by the I	Mayor)			
ΑN	BULANCE:	*Beyer, Lares, Tully; Alternate: Mattke			
		*Tully, Brandel, Neils; Alternate: Mattke			
		•			
		**Schroeder, Teeter, Beyer; Alternate: Lares			
PE	RSONNEL:	*Teeter, Schroeder, Tully; Alternate: Lares			

	STREETS:	Tully, Brandel, N	Aattke; Alternate: Schroeder
	FACILITIES:	.*Schroeder, Bey	er, Tully; Alternate: Mattke
* D	enotes Committee Chairperson		

RESOLUTION THANKING ALAN YOUNG AND RONALD MILLER FOR THEIR DEDICATED SERVICE TO THE CITY OF JEFFERSON

(To Be Introduced by Ald. Tully.)

CITY OF JEFFERSON RESOLUTION NO. 4

BE IT RESOLVED that the Common Council of the City of Jefferson, Wisconsin recognizes Former Alderperson Alan Young and Ronald Miller for their dedicated service to the City of Jefferson.

Ald. Tully, seconded by Ald. Neils moved to approve Resolution No. 4. Motion carried unanimously on call of the roll.

Ald. Mattke, seconded by Ald. Schroeder moved to adjourn the April 19, 2022 organizational meeting of the City of Jefferson Common Council at 7:36 p.m. The motion carried unanimously.

Ald. Brandel, seconded by Ald. Lares moved to approve the following mayoral appointments. Motion carried unanimously on call of the roll.